

MEMORANDUM

DATE: November 16, 2021

TO: Mayor and Members of the City Council

FROM: Becky Behrens, City Clerk

SUBJECT: Boards and Commissions Report

Mayor's Advisory Commission on the Arts

- Recommendation has been made by Mayor Eileen Weir to appoint Rohn Grotenhuis to the above board.
- Staff requests direction as to adding a resolution to the next regular meeting, appointing the above-named individuals.

Tourism Commission

- Recommendation has been made to appoint Glen Esplin-Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and reappoint Jodi Krantz-EDC and John Thornton-Attraction Coalition to the above board.
- Staff requests direction as to adding a resolution to the next regular meeting, appointing the above-named individuals.

Industrial Development Authority

- Recommendation has been made to reappoint Marcia VanVelzen to the above board.
- Staff requests direction as to adding a resolution to the next regular meeting, appointing the above-named individuals.

Sustainability Commission

- Recommendation has been made to appoint Annalisa Deaton to the above board.
- Staff requests direction as to adding a resolution to the next regular meeting, appointing the above-named individuals.

Storm Water Control Oversight Committee

- Recommendation has been made by Councilmember Mike Huff to reappoint Anthony Giaramita to the above board.
- Staff requests direction as to adding a resolution to the next regular meeting, appointing the above-named individuals.

F.Name	L.Name	Position	Staff Apt.	Board Name	Exp.	Interest in Reappointment
				Incumbents/Vacancies		
Vacant				Independence Advisory Board of Health	11/6/2022	
Vacant				Independence Advisory Board of Health	11/6/2022	
Vacant				Tourism Commission	12/31/2022	
Vacant				Tourism Commission	12/31/2022	
Jodi	Krantz			Tourism Commission	12/31/2021	Interested
Michele	Shanahan-DeMoss			Tourism Commission	12/31/2021	Not Interested
John	Thornton			Tourism Commission	12/31/2021	Interested
Vacant				Heritage Commission	4/1/2023	
Virginia	Ferguson			Sustainability Commission	10/1/2021	Notice Sent 8/2/21; 8/25/21;
Connie	Mayta			Sustainability Commission	10/1/2021	Not Interested
Christina	Leung			Independence Square Advisory Board	10/4/2021	Notice Sent 8/2/21; 8/25/21
Lyle	Reeder			Jackson County Board of Equalization	4/30/2021	Not Interested
Lyle (Keith)	Querry			Industrial Development Authority	11/30/2021	Not Interested
Marcia	VanVelzen			Industrial Development Authority	11/30/2021	Interested
				Individual Council Appointments		
Nancy	Kerr		Huff	Brand Independence Committee	3/18/2021	Not Interested
Vacant			Weir	Mayor's Advisory Commission on the Arts	9/1/2021	
Vacant			Perkins	Street Improvement Oversight Committee	10/1/2022	
Tim	Watkins		Hobart	Street Improvement Oversight Committee	10/1/2021	Not Interested
Anthony	Giaramita		Huff	Storm Water Control Oversight Committee	12/16/2021	Interested
Chris	Heitzman		DeLuccie	Storm Water Control Oversight Committee	12/16/2021	Not Interested
Jack	Cardwell	City Appointment	Mayor	Jackson County Animal Welfare Committee	12/30/2021	Interested
Linda	Humphrey	City Appointment	Mayor	Jackson County Animal Welfare Committee	12/30/2021	Interested
Tim	Watkins	City Appointment	Mayor	Jackson County Animal Welfare Committee	12/30/2021	Interested
				Councilmember Appointment Boards		
Vacant		Councilmember		Independence On A Roll Working Group Committee	11/5/2022	