ROUSE FRETS WHITE GOSS GENTILE RHODES, P.C.

BECKY L. ZIEGLER bziegler@rousepc.com 816.502.4717

March 30, 2022

Sent Via E-Mail cityclerk@indepmo.org

Ms. Rebecca Behrens, City Clerk City of Independence, Missouri 111 E. Maple Independence, MO 64050

Re: 23rd & Sterling Community Improvement District

Dear Ms. Behrens:

The 23rd & Sterling Community Improvement District ("District"), is a political subdivision created by the City of Independence, Missouri ("City") by Ordinance No. 18600, passed June 20, 2016, under the authority of the Missouri Community Improvement District Act, Sections 67.1401, et seq., of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended.

The terms of three members of the board of directors (Tim Cosens, Jeff Blobaum, and Alan Johnson) expire in 2022. At its meeting March 30, 2022, the directors approved a slate of successor directors: Tim Cosens, Jeff Blobaum, and Alan Johnson (see attached resolution). Pursuant to the Petition to Establish the District, this slate of directors must be approved by the City's Mayor and the City Council. By this letter the District requests you submit this slate to the Mayor and City Council.

Please call with any questions concerning this matter.

Very truly yours,

Becky Ziegler Paralegal

Enc.

Cc: Brian Engel, Esq. (via e-mail)

23RD & STERLING COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT RESOLUTION 2022-01

Selecting Slate of Successor Directors and Actions Related Thereto Adopted March 30, 2022

WHEREAS, by Ordinance No. 18600 ("Creation Ordinance"), adopted on June 20, 2016, and pursuant to the Community Improvement District Act, Sections 67.1401 et seq., RSMo ("Act"), the City Council of Independence, Missouri ("City") approved the Petition to Establish the 23rd & Sterling Community Improvement District ("Petition"), thereby creating the 23rd & Sterling Community Improvement District ("District") in accordance with the Act; and

WHEREAS, the District was formed for the purposes as defined in the Petition for the Establishment of the District ("Petition") within the District and the City of Independence, Missouri;

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Petition, District directors are to be appointed by the Mayor of Independence with the consent of the City Council;

WHEREAS, the currently appointed directors are:

- 1. Alisha Bultimeier four-year term expiring in 2024
- 2. J.T. Hilderbrand four-year term expiring in 2024
- 3. Jeff Blobaum two-year term expiring in 2022
- 4. Tim Cosens two-year term expiring in 2022
- 5. Alan Johnson two-year term expiring in 2022

WHEREAS, the District desires to submit to the City Clerk for appointment by the Mayor of Independence with the consent of the City Council the following slate of successor directors:

- 1. Jeff Blobaum
- 2. Tim Cosens
- Alan Johnson

WHEREAS, each of the successor directors shall serve a four-year term expiring in 2026 or until their successor is appointed in accordance with the Petition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

Section 1. The following slate of Successor Directors selected in accordance with the Petition is approved:

- 1. Jeff Blobaum
- 2. Tim Cosens
- 3. Alan Johnson

<u>Section 2</u>. Each of the successor directors shall serve a four-year term expiring in 2026.

Section 3. The Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary are authorized and directed to submit the approved slate of the successor directors to the City Clerk and to follow the procedure for appointment by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council as set forth in the Petition. The appointed successor directors shall serve as members of the Board of Directors with all of the duties and powers as provided in the Petition and the District's bylaws.

Section 4. The Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary are authorized and directed to execute and deliver for and on behalf of the Director such certificates, agreements, or documents that may be deemed necessary or desirable by such officers or the District's legal counsel and to perform all other acts as such officers or the District's legal counsel may deem necessary or appropriate in order to facilitate the intent of this Resolution, with such execution being conclusive evidence of the acceptability of the terms and conditions thereof.

Section 5. This Resolution shall take effect immediately.

lisha Bultemeier, Chairperson

ATTEST

Becky Ziegler, Secretary